Black Forest Log School, Church, & Community Center
Our tour will contain 3 parts, the Black Forest Log School, the Black Forest Church, and the Black Forest Community Center. In 1922, the Black Forest School opened for grades one through eight. The School was built with community donated logs. In 1945, the Black Forest School closed after consolidation with Falcon District. It was later used by El Paso County as a home for a County road maintenance employee. By 1981 the County vacated the property and local volunteers took up the cause of saving the building. In 1992, The Black Forest Log School was placed on the National Register of Historic Places. During the last 25 years, various grants and local support helped to restore the School to its current state.
The Black Forest Community Club was chartered in 1929 as a social organization for families living in the Black Forest north of Colorado Springs. The club, which has 134 member families today, occupies a unique, community-built log building at the corner of Black Forest and Shoup Roads that is over 80 years old.