Welcome to the 19th Annual Honor Awards – in 2020! Details and nomination form follow…

The Annual Historic Preservation Awards, presented by the Historic Preservation Alliance of Colorado Springs (HPA), is a local competition recognizing outstanding rehabilitation/restoration, compatible new construction, stewardship and heritage projects in the greater Colorado Springs community.  Established in 2002, these awards in eight categories honor property owners and professionals for their dedication to historic preservation.  The criteria for our Advisory Judges is guided by the Secretary of the Interior’s Standards for the Treatment of Historic Properties; however, the Advisory Judges are asked to use their experience, knowledge of preservation and judgment to evaluate each entry on the merits of their efforts to celebrate the historic qualities of their projects.

Submittal Deadline:  October 1, 2020 – electronic delivery only

Award Categories

  • Residential Rehabilitation/Restoration.  Project nominations may include any structure currently used as a residence.  Design and construction will have resulted in compatible improvements to the building’s historic character, through rehabilitation, restoration, removal of non-historic additions and/or preservation of original design elements.  Retention of original materials will be highly regarded.
  • Civil/Civic Rehabilitation/Restoration.  Project nominations may include historic structures, monuments, or sites and landscapes that are part of the public domain.  Examples of civil or public architecture include government, university and school buildings, museums, monuments, and religious structures.  Examples of historic landscapes include public parks and street medians.
  • Commercial Rehabilitation/Restoration.  Project nominations may include any commercial building, such as inns, hotels or motels, retail shops, restaurants, or residential space adaptively used as a commercial space, restoration of which has significantly contributed to the historic character of the community. 
  • Compatible New Construction.  Compatible new construction projects are those which provide space for contemporary life while respecting the character and context of the original structure and/or the defining characteristics of the surrounding community.  Project nominations may include new structures or additions to existing structures.  Project nominations may be residential, civil, or commercial.
  • Compatible Landscape for Historic Property.  Landscape designs may include structures as well as plant and/or manmade materials that enhance the historic residential, civil, or commercial site
  • Stewardship:  This award recognizes best practices in preservation maintenance for properties, sites or spaces which have maintained their historic integrity over time, including the historic, distinctive and character-defining features of the property through careful and consistent stewardship.
  • Excellence in Preservation Trades and Crafts:  This award seeks to recognize those individuals involved as skilled professionals doing the work of preservation.
  • Miscellaneous Historical Projects.  This innovative award category recognizes efforts of historical documentation including pictorial or literary, in the form of a photo collection, book, essay, bibliography, etc. in any media that serves to capture our history for future reference.  Special projects for consideration in this category could also include studies, reports, grants, historic designation nominations, tax credit applications or other prepared documents within this context. 

Nomination Format Requirement

All applications must be submitted in digital form.  Nominations may be emailed as a PDF to Tim Boddington, HPA President and Awards Chairman, at boddman@comcast.net or mailed (or hand delivered) on a flashdrive to Tim Boddington, 1515 Wood Ave., 80907.  All nominations will receive an email confirmation of receipt.

What Projects are Eligible?

  • Projects must fit into one of the eight categories
  • All projects must be located within the greater Colorado Springs area.
  • Rehabilitation/Restoration projects must be on structures at least 50 years old.
  • Projects should have been completed within the past five years (except those pertaining to the Stewardship category.)  Exceptions may be considered.

Who May Enter?

The awards program is open to property owners, long-term leaseholders and professionals (architects, landscape architects, contractors, consultants, craftspeople, and designers) substantially involved with the project, or third parties (organizations, agencies, individuals) who know of outstanding projects in the Colorado Springs area.

Why Enter?

  • Gain exposure and receive public recognition for your important contributions to our community’s historic character.
  • Be recognized at the Annual Awards Gala and receive a framed award certificate.

Is There a Cost to Enter?

There is no cost to enter.  Sponsorships are available.  Please contact Roxanne Eflin, Vice President, (roxanne.eflin@gmail.com) for details.


  • Completed Nomination Form (see below)
  • Narrative (maximum four pages) to including the following:
  • The project’s historic context
  • Specific goals of the project
  • Specific challenges the project team had to overcome
  • The project’s benefits to the community
  • The broader lessons to be drawn from the project
  • Photos:
  • 3-4 historic photographs of the structure, site or area involved
  • 4-6 photographs of before, during and after
  • Illustrative photos as needed to convey important detail to help you tell a compelling story

Note: if you are nominating a property or project which you do not own, please arrange for written permission from the owners and include with your nomination.

Awardees will be announced at a date, time and format to be determined!  Questions?  Please contact Tim Boddington at (719) 339-9168.  We look forward to your nomination! 


Historic Preservation Alliance of Colorado Springs: Annual Honor Awards Nomination Form Cover Pageplease cut and paste or print out and scan for your nomination packet.

Award Category (Choose ONE):

___Residential Rehabilitation/Restoration

___Commercial Rehabilitation/Restoration      

___Civil/Civic Restoration            

___Compatible New Construction     

___Compatible Landscape                    


___Excellence in the Crafts and Trades

___Miscellaneous Historical Project

Nomination submitted by:  ______________________________________________________________

Nominator’s address:  __________________________________________________________________

Nominator’s Phone numbers: ____________________________________________________________________________________

Nominator’s Email:  ____________________________________________________________________

Project name (if any):  __________________________________________________________________

Address of nominated property:  __________________________________________________________

Property owner:  _______________________________________________________________________

Architecture, Landscape Architecture, or Design firm(s):  _____________________________________________________________________________________

General contractors, Consultants and Crafts/Tradespeople:   _____________________________________________________________________________________



Please List All Attachments:                                       

Please email your nomination OR mail (or hand deliver) your nomination on a flashdrive (NO hard copies – must be all digital) to:  Tim Boddington, 1515 Wood Ave., Colorado Springs, CO 80907.  For additional information contact Tim at (719) 339-9168 or email Boddman@comcast.net.  Thank you for your contribution!